In All-Hallows-Eve

In All-Hallows-Eve (6-7-2013)

Image

Thump! Thump! Thump! I heard the beat off
in the distance.  I thought it
was a heart beat!  Then I listened harder and found
it was mine! Running, I tried
hard not to lose my balance.
I was trying to get
away.  Each time I looked
back, I could feel them getting
closer. Breathing hard I tried to get my
body to get into rhyme
with my mind.  It was not
easy.  My brain was running
faster then my body, or at
least that was how it felt.  The
words were getting louder
now.  I could feel the tension
rise up in my middle.
My paws were
aching, the hard ground digging into
the slim covers of my paws.
Each time I
slowed to take a peek, the voices
got closer; closer still.
This isn’t working,
I need a place to hide-
to think.  Where to go
Snow lightly fell over the path.  Cold
slowly seeping though my body,
air shifting right in front of me.
I looked to my left,
and then to my right,
the dark woods looked even
darkerMidnight glow of All-Hallows-Eve
upon us, maybe just upon me.
I saw a huge tree with
an open area sitting by the path. 

 

In All-Hallows-Eve (P2)

 

 I darted in, pulling my tail in quick
curling up inside the dark, damp,
hole, stilling my breathing, controlling the shudders rolling through me.
I am a black cat named
Smokey.  I love kids, and adore
my pets.  That was how
it used to be, anyhow.
I tried to think back. 
When
did it start?  Yesterday or was it the
day before- what day- now?

Oh it must have been three
days ago.  I shuddered, thinking.
I stop thinking long enough to
listen. Branches were being kicked aside further
away from me now.
I uncurled my tail, licking my
wet fur.  It had
a calming effect
on me.  What is it I
am trying to remember?   I still
feel confused.  I
think back to three days ago when
my pets have vanished!
The entire village
is looking for them.  How
did
this happen?  My ears perk
I hear the underbrush of the bushes
sway, a low growl emits
from 20 feet away.  I feel my
eyes widen in fear I
see a huge dog appear.
I swish my tail, bare
my teeth, take off, running, towards town.
The glowing hound gets a sniff
I run faster, tumble, and hit my head.
I wake, the warm fire, a nightmare. 

© 62013 Dalene Davies

 

One thought on “In All-Hallows-Eve

Leave a comment